Types of Urban Centres

​The Urban Centres that make up the regional network are of various scales and functions. While all Urban Centres share the common elements of transportation accessibility and planned residential and employment growth, they differ in other characteristics. There are three broad types of Urban Centres that help structure growth in the region, all of which will continue to be monitored and explored.

Metro Centres

Metro Centres are large Regional City Centres that anchor the Urban Centre Network. They serve the regional population by providing major activity hubs for transportation, employment, and housing.

  • Vancouver Metro Core: The Region's Downtown
  • Surrey City Centre: The Centre of Activity South of the Fraser

Learn more about the characteristics and growth trends of the Metro Centres in the Regional City Centre Profiles.

​Regional City Centres

There are seven other Regional City Centres found across Metro Vancouver that also serve as important activity hubs for transportation, employment and housing. These Centres provide good locations to distribute growth across the region while connecting to the larger Metro Centres.

Learn more about the characteristics and growth trends of the Regional City Centres in the Regional City Centre Profiles.

Municipal Town Centres

There are 17 designated Municipal Town Centres that are more local and serve as activity hubs for municipal populations. Some Municipal Town Centres are important transportation hubs for subregional and municipal populations and are all linked to the Frequent Transit Network.

Frequent Transit Development Areas

Frequent Transit Development Areas (FTDAs) are additional priority locations for accommodating concentrated growth in higher density forms of development. Urban design for these areas will also promote transit-oriented development where transit, cycling and walking are the preferred modes of transportation.

Learn more about how FTDAs are identified to complement the Urban Centres Network in Metro 2040 Implementation Guideline #4: Identifying Frequent Transit Development Areas.