Metro Vancouver Logo
Home Email page Print Share this page Increase text size Decrease text size
Treaty Negotiations
Lower Mainland Treaty Advisory Committee (LMTAC)

 Watch video clips

Aboriginal Relations 
Metro Vancouver maintains an Aboriginal Relations program, which supports staff and Metro Vancouver Board involvement on policies and projects related to aboriginal relations and treaty negotiations issues.

This includes:
  • Responding to specific issues arising from direct relations with First Nations with respect to Metro Vancouver’s corporate interests (e.g. plans, programs, processes, policies, services, lands, facilities, and infrastructure);
  • Developing policies and projects in support of Metro Vancouver’s First Nations Strategy (e.g. Board liaisons to First Nations) and emerging corporate interests;
  • Maintaining pertinent information on First Nations communities;
  • Supporting the Board’s involvement in the BC treaty negotiations process and the province’s New Relationship agreements;
  • Responding to related issues raised by Metro Vancouver staff, the provincial and federal governments, and other organizations and agencies.
There are 11 First Nations in the Metro Vancouver region, including two without lands. 
  Hwlitsum First Nation
(without lands)
  Katzie First Nation
  Kwantlen First Nation
(a member First Nation of the Sto:lo Tribal Council)
  Kwikwetlem First Nation
  Matsqui First Nation
(a member First Nation of the Sto:lo Nation)
  Musqueam Indian Band
  Qayqayt First Nation
(without lands; also known as the New Westminster Indian Band)
  Semiahmoo First Nation
(a member First Nation of the Senco’ten Alliance)
  Squamish Nation
  Tsawwassen First Nation
(a treaty First Nation member of Metro Vancouver, the GVRD and GVWD)
  Tsleil-Waututh Nation
(also known as the Burrard Indian Band)
A large number of First Nations outside the region (e.g. including those in the Fraser Valley and on Vancouver Island) also have traditional territories and asserted claims involving lands within this region.  Here is a listing of the Tribal Councils representing these First Nations. Also listed is one independent First Nation.
  Hul'qumi'num Treaty Group
(six First Nations)
  In-SHUCK-ch Nation
(three First Nations)
  Sencot'en Alliance
(four First Nations)
  Sto:lo Nation
(11 First Nations)
  Sto:lo Tribal Council
(eight First Nations)
  Te'Mexw Treaty Association
(five First Nations)
  Tseycum First Nation
(one independent First Nation)

 Related Information