Media Releases



Metro Vancouver Board Chair George Harvie has announced the Metro Vancouver standing committee and task force structure and appointments for 2023."The work we do at Metro Vancouver benefits tremendously from both the shared values and diverse perspectives of elected officials from across our region, which is why it was important to me that there be gender parity in the leadership of these important committees," said George Harvie, chair of Metro Vancouver's Board of Directors. "I look forward to working closely with our committee members and the local governments they represent on our region's most pressing issues during the year ahead."The 2023 Metro Vancouver Board, which had its inaugural meeting on November 25, has 14 standing committees and two task forces that represent the 21 member municipalities, Electoral Area A, and Tsawwassen First Nation. Of the 14 committees, seven will be chaired by women and seven by men."I am grateful for the opportunity to collaborate with such a strong, committed group of elected officials to continue the important work Metro Vancouver does to keep our region one of the most livable in the world," said John McEwen, vice chair of the Metro Vancouver Board.The standing committees consider priorities, policies, and activities for the organization, and make recommendations to the Board.The chairs for the 2023 Metro Vancouver committees are as follows:Climate Action: Chair Lisa Dominato (Councillor, City of Vancouver)Electoral Area: Chair Jen McCutcheon (Director, Electoral Area A)Finance: Chair Brad West (Mayor, City of Port Coquitlam)Flood Resiliency Committee: Chair Dylan Kruger (Councillor, City of Delta)Housing: Chair Brenda Locke (Mayor, City of Surrey)Indigenous Relations: Chair Sav Dhaliwal (Councillor, City of Burnaby)Invest Vancouver: Chair Linda Buchanan (Mayor, City of North Vancouver)Liquid Waste: Chair Mike Hurley (Mayor, City of Burnaby)Mayors: Chair Brenda Locke (Mayor, City of Surrey)Regional Culture: Chair Lisa Muri (Councillor, District of North Vancouver)Regional Parks: Chair John McEwen (Mayor, Village of Anmore and Vice Chair, Metro Vancouver)Regional Planning: Chair Eric Woodward (Mayor, Township of Langley)Water: Chair Malcolm Brodie (Mayor, City of Richmond)Zero Waste: Chair Sarah Kirby-Yung (Councillor, City of Vancouver)In addition to standing committees, two task forces have been established. The chairs for these task forces are as follows:Chair's Financial Plan Task Force: Chair George Harvie (Mayor, City of Delta and Chair, Metro Vancouver)George Massey Crossing Task Force: Chair Malcolm Brodie (Mayor, City of Richmond)The complete list of Board, committee, and task force members is available at