Media Releases



​Metro Vancouver's Board of Directors has elected George Harvie, mayor of the City of Delta, as its new chair for 2023, with John McEwen, mayor of the Village of Anmore, elected as vice chair.Metro Vancouver provides core utility services to 21 municipalities, Tsawwassen First Nation, and Electoral Area A, serving more than 2.8 million residents. Services include drinking water, wa stewater treatment, solid waste management, air quality regulation, planning for urban growth, managing a regional parks system, and providing affordable housing. The regional district is governed by a 41-person Board of Directors made up of elected officials from each member jurisdiction. The chair and vice chair oversee the Metro Vancouver Regional District, Greater Vancouver Sewage & Drainage District, Greater Vancouver Water District, and Metro Vancouver Housing Corporation boards. They are elected for a one-year term.Directors are appointed by their respective councils, except for Electoral Area A, where the director is elected directly by residents. The number of directors from each member jurisdiction reflects its population, and each director is allocated one vote for every 20,000 people, up to a maximum of five votes.In the coming weeks, Chair Harvie will determine the standing committees and their membership, which will then consider priorities, policies, and activities for the organization, and make recommendations to the Board, which meets once a month.Chair Harvie's biography is posted on the City of Delta website: Vice Chair McEwen's biography is posted on the Village of Anmore website: full  list of 2023 Metro Vancouver Board members and their vote allocations can be found here: